Nominations will close October 6, 2020 at 11:59 pm NDT

Currently, First Dawn Eastern Edge Regional Council is eligible to elect thirteen (13) commissioners to the 44th General Council to be held in Calgary, AB from July 22–26, 2022. The President of the Region is also a commissioner by virtue of their office and one space will be held for the chosen Pilgrim. A minimum of 1/3 of the commissioners must be Ministry Personnel and a minimum of 1/3 of the commissioners must be Lay Representatives. Attention should be given to diversity of age, gender, racial and cultural identities and sexual expressions. We will be electing four (4) Ministry Personnel (as well as their alternates) and four (4) Lay Commissioners (as well as their alternates) at the 2020 Annual Meeting of First Dawn Eastern Edge on October 17, 2020. The four (4) remaining commissioners will be elected at the 2021 Annual Meeting. These remaining commissioner positions will be elected giving particular attention to the balance and diversity. This would also allow for the ability to elect a commissioner who may be nominated for Moderator.

The procedure for electing four (4) Ministry Personnel commissioners and four (4) Lay commissioners at the October 17, 2020 Annual Meeting are as follows:

  • Nominations will be collected by electronic form which is available through the link above on the Regional Council website until October 6, 2020 at 11:59 pm NDT. At this time, nominations for the four (4) Ministry Personnel and four (4) Lay Commissioners will close. Each Nomination must be moved and seconded by someone other than the Nominee (no self nominations). These persons must be members of a community of faith within the bounds of First Dawn Eastern Edge Regional Council. The Nominations Committee will make a formal nomination at the Annual Meeting to recognize the entire group of Nominees.
  • Biographical information collected from the Nominations process will be posted on the Regional Council website for all attendees of the Annual Meeting to review before the meeting.
  • A ballot will be created with all of the nominated names. This ballot will be distributed to all voting members who are present to the Annual Meeting on October 17, 2020 through electronic means. Voters will be asked to choose four (4) names from each list (Ministry Personnel and Lay) who they think will best represent the diversity and values of the Region.
  • The votes will be tallied. The Nominations Committee will present the four (4) names for Ministry Personnel and four (4) names for Lay commissioners who are successful following the vote, for a total of eight (8) commissioners elected. The next four (4) highest votes, for both Ministry Personnel and Lay, will be elected as the alternates, depending on the number of nominations submitted.

General Council Commissioner’s Role:
Commissioners begin their appointment with the General Council and are appointed to serve until the start of the next General Council, a three-year term. During that time, they may receive updates, communications and carry out their responsibilities in various ways during their term. The General Council reconvenes each fall for a virtual meeting. Once you have attended the General Council and return to your Region, you are asked to find opportunities to report on the meeting in your local community of faith, clusters of communities of faith and Regional Council.

Thank you for your prayerful consideration to serve your church in this meaningful way. If you have any questions, please be in touch with the Nominations Committee Chair Bruce Rideout at

Nominations will close October 6, 2020 at 11:59 pm NDT

GC44 Election of Commissioners FDEE

44th General Council Commissioner Form (FDEE)

  • For information on pronouns visit
  • In approximately 250 words, please describe why you are interested in serving as a General Council Commissioner at the 44th General Council. Please identify any gifts, passions, experiences, etc. that you might bring to this position.
  • Max. file size: 64 MB.
  • This nomination is moved by:

  • This nomination is seconded by: